When He Calls

So Abram went, as the Lord had told him;
‭‭Genesis‬ ‭12:4a‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Abram left, despite all that he was asked to leave behind.
Abram went, although he didn’t know where he was going.
He put his faith in God, even though God’s plan for him may have sounded a little shaky.

Where was this land that God wanted to show him, and what was he supposed to do when he got there?
How was God going to make him a great nation when he was childless at the age of 75, and Sarai was not able to conceive?
How was God going to make his name great when there was nothing remarkable about him?

When God calls, He is not asking us to have faith in his plans, He is asking us to have faith in Him and that His plans for us are good. The plan, alone – without Him, without His principles, without obedience, without faith – isn’t what brings you blessings or success.

Abram went because he had faith in God. He believed God. The difference between believing in God and believing God is that anyone can believe in God, but when you believe God, you begin to exercise your faith, you live in obedience, and you answer when God calls.

But how do I know what God is calling me to do?
Abram had the benefit of having instructions directly from God. Unfortunately, we do not have the convenience of being able to text God:

Hey Heavenly Father! 😇
I’ve got this weekend off! 🙌🏼
Is there anything special you
want me to work on? You got
any PLANS for me? Give me a CALL! Amen 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

I mean, how awesome would THAT be – if He would just TELL us what His plan is?
Well, I can’t tell you what God is calling you to do, because I don’t know your personal gifts and talents or how God is working in your life, but here’s some advice on a few ways you can get more in tune with a thought process that will help you follow where he leads.

– Keep your thoughts focused on Him rather than yourself. Learn to quiet your inner voice and listen for His voice. I absolutely love this version of Proverbs 3:5-6!

Trust GOD from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for GOD ’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Proverbs‬ ‭3:5-6‬ ‭MSG‬‬

– Set aside a time for Him every. single. day. Pray. Read His Word and follow His instructions and His Principles. There is so much to learn in The Bible. If you follow where it leads you, you will be answering God’s call in your life!
– Don’t be afraid to take a first step. Like Abram, put yourself in His hands without fear of the unknown. Don’t be concerned with what you leave behind. The rewards you receive from knowing that you are walking in the path He has set for you are more than worth it!

Dear God, Thank You for having a better plan for me than I could ever make for myself. Please help me to grow in faith as I walk the path You have set for me. Please teach me and prepare me so I am ready to answer Your call. And please quiet my thoughts that are focused on myself so I can fully focus on You and follow where You lead me.
Amen

Author:

I'm just a normal girl with an amateur blog. I am by no means a professional writer and I have no intentions of gaining a lot of readers, so I apologize if this isn't as hard-hitting or relevant as you were expecting. This really is just a spot for me to collect my thoughts and keep them in a place where I can find them without rummaging through dozens of notebooks. There are much better search options available here as well! 😂

Leave a Reply

