Pride

As the people began to multiply and spread across the Earth, as God had directed, they came to a plain and decided to settle there. They began to build a city with a tower that “reaches to the heavens” so that they could make a name for themselves. Their pride and arrogance had convinced them that they could be self-sufficient.
If our main goal is a more important title or a big recognition, then we are seeking our own glory. Seeking our own glory leaves no room for seeking the glory of God.

“In his pride the wicked man does not seek him; in all his thoughts there is no room for God.”
‭‭Psalm‬ ‭10:4‬ ‭NIV‬‬

When God saw the city and the tower, he dealt with the people in a merciful way – he scattered them across the whole world and confused their language. He didn’t want them working together on a project that glorified themselves. He didn’t want them motivated by their own pride.
When God sees us headed toward self-sufficiency and independence, he will put obstacles in our way, because independence leads to disobedience.

What towers am I building in my life?
What am I doing for me – not God?
What do I want credit for?

“Humble yourselves [with an attitude of repentance and insignificance] in the presence of the Lord, and He will exalt you [He will lift you up, He will give you purpose].”
‭‭JAMES‬ ‭4:10‬ ‭AMP‬‬

Lord,
We both know that sometimes I struggle with my ego. I know that it isn’t right to boast. Please help me to accept that it’s okay if others don’t know of my accomplishments, and remind me that I don’t need to make a name for myself – You know my name, and You know my heart. I am working on being humble and thinking more of You and less of me. In the meantime, thank You so much for Your grace.
Amen

Author:

I'm just a normal girl with an amateur blog. I am by no means a professional writer and I have no intentions of gaining a lot of readers, so I apologize if this isn't as hard-hitting or relevant as you were expecting. This really is just a spot for me to collect my thoughts and keep them in a place where I can find them without rummaging through dozens of notebooks. There are much better search options available here as well! 😂

Leave a Reply

