In His Image

God didn’t make us like everything else. We are special to him. When he created man, he made us in his image – out of love. He wanted us to be like him so he could have a relationship with us. After creating us in his image, he saw that it was very good. Not just OK, very good.

Remember that when you look in the mirror and see nothing but your flaws. God made every part of you, and he doesn’t make mistakes. He sees every flaw, but he still loves you! He doesn’t compare you to anyone else, so why should you?! He made you unique and you were born just when and where he wanted you. When you wish for a prettier face or a thinner body or a whole new life… You are focusing on the wrong things! Look in the mirror again and find something that you DO like. Look in the mirror without comparing yourself to anyone else. Those eyes, that nose, that mouth – they are all God’s creation and he loves you. Focus more on him and the gift of life that he gave you, and less on your insecurities. Shift your self-image from your physical imperfections to finding his qualities in you. When you begin to see the beauty and the good inside yourself and others, then you will know that you have your Father’s eyes.

When I am feeling less than perfect, I will pray:
Thank you, Lord, for giving me the miracle of life, and for blessing me with good health and a body that functions the way it is supposed to! Please help me to accept my body just the way it is and to make good choices for my health. And help me to have confidence in knowing that you made me just the way you wanted me – from every strand of hair on the top of my head, to the freckle on the bottom of my foot! And that you gave me everything I need to fulfill your plan for me.
Amen


Today’s Scripture:

Genesis 1:26-31a NIV

26 Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”
27 So God created mankind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them.
28 God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”
29 Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. 30 And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds in the sky and all the creatures that move along the ground—everything that has the breath of life in it—I give every green plant for food.” And it was so.
31 God saw all that he had made, and it was very good.

Author:

I'm just a normal girl with an amateur blog. I am by no means a professional writer and I have no intentions of gaining a lot of readers, so I apologize if this isn't as hard-hitting or relevant as you were expecting. This really is just a spot for me to collect my thoughts and keep them in a place where I can find them without rummaging through dozens of notebooks. There are much better search options available here as well! 😂

Leave a Reply

